Welcome to the 3rd International Ice-Binding Protein Conference


Ice-binding proteins (IBPs), a unifying name for antifreeze proteins, recrystallization inhibition proteins, and ice nucleating proteins, are found in organisms living in cold ecosystems where ice is present. Organisms from many branches of the tree of life use IBPs to embrace the consequences of freezing by several strategies such as preventing freezing or tolerating it. The conference will bring together the scientific community for discourse on the latest findings in scientific and technological aspects addressing IBPs. The conference is an opportunity to create research collaborations and share ideas between groups all over the world who have interests in different aspects of IBPs.

The program consists of plenary lectures, oral presentations, poster sessions, and an excursion.

The conference will be held in Rehovot, "the city of Science", Israel, on the pastoral campus of the R.H. Smith Faculty of Agriculture, Food and Environment. The Faculty is part of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, ranked first among Israeli universities in international rankings.

The extensive gardens and modern lecture halls of the Rehovot campus provide a warm and welcoming atmosphere for international visitors. We hope participants will enjoy both the conference and their visit to Israel.

Organizing Committee


Dr. Ido Braslavsky
The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
The Robert H. Smith Faculty of Agriculture Food, and Environment
ido.braslavsky@mail.huji.ac.il

Dr. Chi-Hing Christina Cheng
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Department of Animal Biology
c-cheng@illinois.edu

Dr. Peter Davies
Queen’s University, Canada
Department of Biomedical and Molecular Sciences
daviesp@queensu.ca

Dr. John Duman
University of Notre Dame, USA
Department of Biological Sciences
duman.1@nd.edu

Dr. Sakae Tsuda
AIST,
Structural Biology Group Japan
s.tsuda@aist.go.jp

Dr. Andrzej Wierzbicki
University of South Alabama, USA
Department of Chemistry
awierzbi@jaguar1.usouthal.edu

Local (European) Organizing Committee


Dr. Maddalena Bayer
Alfred-Wegener-Institut fur Polar und Meeresforschung: Bremerhaven,Bremen, Germany
Glaciology
maddalena.bayer@awi.de

Dr. Ido Braslavsky
The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
The Robert H. Smith Faculty of Agriculture Food, and Environment
ido.braslavsky@mail.huji.ac.il

Dr. Yizchak Mastai
Bar Ilan University, Israel
Department of Chemistry
Yitzhak.Mastai@biu.ac.il

Dr. Hans Ramløv
Roskilde University, Denmark
Department of Biology and Chemistry
hr@ruc.dk

Dr. Frank Söennichsen
Kiel University, Germany
Otto Diels Institute for Organic Chemistry,
fsoennichsen@oc.uni-kiel.de

Dr. IIja K. Voets
Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands
Department of Chemical Engineering and Chemistry
i.voets@tue.nl